• German exchange students arrive Sept. 22 and depart Oct. 7 and a special assembly will be held in The Huss Auditorium Sept. 23
  • Spanish exchange students arrived Sept. 14 and depart Sept. 25.
  • Senior speeches on 10/1: Henry Vlietstra, Jack Guinan, Ryan Strobel, and Quinn Appert

The Rubicon

The Rubicon Awards

current 2018-19 AWARDS


National Scholastic Press Association

The Rubicon – All American

RubicOnline – All American

Pacemaker Winner

NSPA Individual Awards

2018 Digital Story of the Year — Multimedia News Story Package: Marlee Baron, Mimi Geller, Koji Gutzmann, Sharee Roman

Columbine shooting anniversary inspires student organized walk out

Comics Journalism — Mimi Geller

Illustrated Interview with Saffy Rindelaub

Editorial Cartoon – Melissa Nie

We need to change how SPA talks about race


Columbia Scholastic Press Association:

CSPA Gold Medalist (Hybrid) w/All Columbian Honors

Gold Crown Winner

CSPA Gold Circle Awards

1st Place – Video Feature Package: Mimi Geller, “The Making of a Musical,” RubicOnline

3rd Place – Cartoon Portfolio of work: 3. Melissa Nie, The Rubicon

Certificate of Merit: Podcast – Mira Zelle, “Senior Mira” RubicOnline



School Newspapers Online:

Distinguished Site


State Recognition:

JEM All State Gold – Online and Print, Aureus

MHSPA State Convention Best of Show

Aureus – 1st Place – Best of Show

The Rubicon – 3rd Place – Best of Show

RubicOnline – 3rd Place – Best of Show

Gold Medallion – 2nd Place – Website General Excellence

MHSPA Individual Awards

The Rubicon Newspaper Center Spread Design – 4th Place – Quinn Christensen

The Rubicon Newspaper Editorial Cartoon – 4th Place – Melissa Nie

The Rubicon Newspaper Editorial Cartoon – 1st Place – Melissa Nie

The Rubicon Newspaper Editorial – 8th Place – Staff

The Rubicon Newspaper News Story – 7th Place – Jasper Green

The Rubicon Newspaper Page One Design – 2nd Place – Jonah Harrison

The Rubicon Newspaper Newspaper Single Page Design – 4th Place – Jasper Green

RubicOnline Broadcast Feature Story – 1st Place – Mimi Geller

RubicOnline Broadcast News Story – 3rd Place – Noah Raaum

RubicOnline Broadcast News Story – 2nd Place – Noah Raaum

RubicOnline Multimedia Package – 2nd Place – Marlee Baron, Mimi Geller, Koji Gutzmann, Sharee Roman